31 Days of Finding Joy

Hello! This post is the first of a series, 31 Days of Finding Joy. Interested in finding the rest? Scroll down for a list of posts.

I started this blog approximately a month and a half ago, with the best of intentions. Obviously, I exhibited some serious dedication… since this is only my 2nd post. This is kind of reminding me of the 20-some odd diaries and journals I started as a child. So this is my attempt at getting my act together and actually working on this blog.

For our wedding in June, my wonderful college roommate’s equally wonderful family gave us the book “The Nesting Place” by Myquillyn Smith, affectionately known in the blogosphere as The Nester. My roommate’s mom wrote me a sweet note about how the book reminded her of me and my “craftiness and cute ideas,” or something along those lines. I just started the book this week and can I just say, I could not be more flattered and complimented that this book reminded her of me.

BUT! This post is not just about me rambling. I mention all this to get to my point: I started reading the book, got inspired, found The Nester’s blog, and found out that she’s starting her annual 31 Days Series! I don’t know WHY I am getting myself involved–accountability is a dangerous thing. But it can be rewarding, can’t it?

blog 31 days

So my 31 days (well… I’m starting this a day late so it’s really more like 30 days. Oops.) are going to be focused on Finding Joy. That was the point of my blog in the first place; that was its purpose. Therefore, what better way to break my lack of concentration than to get this back to its purpose? So to start us off: a short list of 5 little things that help me find joy, in no particular order:

1. Watching Once Upon a Time. Sorry, I’m obsessed.
2. Having a new apartment, a place of our own. I cannot WAIT to finish unpacking and start decorating. You have no idea.
3. Pumpkins! Yesterday, Tyler and I found a roadside stand selling pumpkins for 4/$10. WHAT. More on this to come, I’m sure.
4. Surprises–good surprises. Like an unexpected bonus at work. Winning!
5. A full bookshelf and a cozy chair. Throw a big ol’ fluffy blanket in there and I couldn’t feel any more warm and fuzzy.

Look for more to come. I’ll figure out this blogging life soon enough.

* * *

Looking for the rest of the 31 Days of Finding Joy series?

Day 2: The Ultimate Joy-Blocker

Day 3: Pumpkins!

Day 4: Marathons and Emotions

Day 5: Dinner is Served

Day 6: The Dream

Day 7: Adventure!

Day 8: No More Waiting For Perfection

Day 9: Traffic Jams and Groceries

Day 10: Overdependence

Day 11: …In a Negative Atmosphere

Day 12: Free my Soul!

Day 13: Loss.

Day 14: Let That Be Enough

Day 15: Feelin’ 22.

Day 16: Children.

Day 17: For the Sake of the Weekend.

Day 18: Psalm 23 in Word and Song

Day 19: Clean Hearts

Day 20: The Budget

Day 21: Inspired by Grace

Day 22: A Well-Organized Space

Day 23: This isn’t What I Signed Up For

Day 24: Sink Yourself Into That

Day 25: Beauty in the Mundane

Day 26: A Spot of Kindness

Day 27: Silliness.

Day 28: Tyler Takeover

Day 29: Ennui!

Day 30: Martha, Martha, Martha

Day 31: All Good Things…

30 thoughts on “31 Days of Finding Joy

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: The Ultimate Joy-Blocker | Waiting For Home

  2. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Pumpkins! | Waiting For Home

  3. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Marathons and Emotions | Waiting For Home

  4. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Dinner is Served | Waiting For Home

  5. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: The Dream | Waiting For Home

  6. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Adventure! | Waiting For Home

  7. Pingback: 31 Days of Joy: No More Waiting for Perfection | Waiting For Home

  8. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Traffic Jams and Groceries | Waiting For Home

  9. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Overdependence | Waiting For Home

  10. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy:…In a Negative Atmosphere | Waiting For Home

  11. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Free my Soul! | Waiting For Home

  12. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Loss. | Waiting For Home

  13. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Let That Be Enough | Waiting For Home

  14. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Feelin’ 22. | Waiting For Home

  15. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Children. | Waiting For Home

  16. Pingback: 31 Days of Joy: For the Sake of the Weekend. | Waiting For Home

  17. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Psalm 23 in Word and Song | Waiting For Home

  18. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Clean Hearts | Waiting For Home

  19. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: The Budget | Waiting For Home

  20. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Inspired by Grace | Waiting For Home

  21. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: This isn’t What I Signed Up For | Waiting For Home

  22. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Sink Yourself Into That | Waiting For Home

  23. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: A Spot of Kindness | Waiting For Home

  24. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Beauty in the Mundane | Waiting For Home

  25. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Ennui! | Waiting For Home

  26. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Silliness. | Waiting For Home

  27. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: Tyler Takeover | Waiting For Home

  28. Pingback: Waiting For Home

  29. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: All Good Things…. | Waiting For Home

  30. Pingback: 31 Days is back! | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

