31 Days of Finding Joy: Dinner is Served

For the first 3+ months of our marriage, Tyler and I lived above my in-laws’ garage. It was supposed to be a temporary situation, even more temporary than it was, until we moved to go back to Indiana. And then things changed and our lives got flipped around, and all of the sudden we were looking for a home here in New York. For about a month we continued living above the garage, until we found our PERFECT apartment. We planned on looking a little bit longer, waiting until we had more permanent jobs, but when we found this one we fell in love.

Now, living above my in-laws’ garage was a great blessing for temporary living. Even with the camouflage wall. (Yes, the entire wall was camouflage. The largest wall in a 1-room space that we lovingly called our first home. Don’t let your father-in-law be in charge of decor.) But seriously, no sarcasm intended, it was such a blessing to have somewhere to stay for the first few months of our marriage. Originally, because there’s nowhere that does a 2-month lease, and eventually, because we needed a place while we lived in transition. However, after 3 months of having to go back inside the main house to use the bathroom or shower, use wifi, or cook dinner… you can imagine how nice of a change it was.

Now luckily, I was blessed with amazing in-laws who I love and who love me, so I don’t want this post in any way to make me sound ungrateful. However, can I tell you how much I love having my own kitchen?!

My little kitchen, shortly after getting it "livable".

My little kitchen, shortly after getting it “livable”.

The other side of our kitchen with the little breakfast nook<3 LOVE.

More of the kitchen, & the little breakfast nook.

I know this might sound crazy, but I LOVE making dinner. Even when I’m exhausted and don’t feel like making it, I can’t get away from the fact that I thoroughly enjoy making dinner. See, I was never much of a cook growing up. My older sister did most of the cooking, and my mom and I didn’t really care too much. We’d just eat our same old favorites again and again. So I was honestly quite nervous about being a wife and cooking for my husband. Especially since my mother-in-law knows her way around the kitchen quite well. But I’ve been discovering something: I’m not too bad of a cook! One of my favorite things is finding and nailing a new recipe, or coming up with my own random recipe and it being a success. Tyler actually really likes my cooking, that or he’s a great actor. Tonight’s dinner?

So. Good.

                                                                                                 So. Good.

Pulled pork sandwiches. I know this is no big deal to most people but I have never made pulled pork before, and heck until 2 months ago I was convinced I didn’t like it. But this was sooo good. A great opportunity to use our new Crock Pot, try out a new recipe, and apparently “force” Tyler to eat 4 sandwiches. (He blames me, because I made good food and so of course it was my fault.) He literally said “mmm” with every bite for the first 2 sandwiches. In case you need to make this for yourself, I used a slightly modified version of this recipe at Cincy Shopper. It was delicious. For seasoning, I used salt, pepper, chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, sugar, and brown sugar. I didn’t measure any of it, just kind of sprinkled it on and let it cook in the Dr. Pepper. This will be made again in the future, which is great because this pork roasts was BOGO and the other one is sitting in our freezer!

All that to say, I feel so much joy when I am doing what I feel I’m meant to do. I know that a lot of people would wince at me saying that my purpose in life is to cook for my husband. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think that’s my purpose… but it’s a job that God has for me at this stage of my life, and I am LOVING it. I have so much joy in this work, even when my mind and body are exhausted from a long day at my 9-5 job.

What work has God put in your life that you can find joy in?

* * *

This post is part of the series 31 Days of Finding Joy. Interested? Click here for the rest.

blog 31 days

3 thoughts on “31 Days of Finding Joy: Dinner is Served

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

  2. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: All Good Things…. | Waiting For Home

  3. Pingback: Is it too late? (&50th blog post!) | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

