31 Days of Joy: No More Waiting for Perfection

Today was the first time in a long time that I didn’t have to go anywhere. Usually even on my days off I have errands to run or at the very least I have to drive Tyler to work because I need the car. Today, however, I had no plans. We got up at the usual time so that Tyler could go to a job screening/orientation, and after I sent him off I was free to do whatever I liked. What. An amazing. Feeling. Granted, I still had a lot of work to do and a lot that needed to get done, but as long as I could do it in sweat pants and no make-up… who cares?! The only downer was that I apparently pulled a muscle at work yesterday, which meant that I didn’t have very much fun moving around. On the other hand, that was a great excuse for taking frequent breaks! 😉

As I’ve mentioned in several posts so far, I’m ready to make my home more homey. I’ve also mentioned that I’m an over-thinker, and I don’t’ like to do anything until I’m sure it’s going to be perfect… which means that nothing ever gets done at all. Well today I punched that mindset in the face and decided to do something! The following pictures aren’t very pretty, but just believe me when I say they look better in person.

Canisters

First of all, I put my kitchen canisters out! I had avoided using them because I wasn’t 100% sold on an idea for what to put in them. But today I decided to throw caution to the wind and have at it! The hilarious thing about this is, about a half hour after filling them up… I thought of something better to put in them. Ha! My usual over-thinking self almost barged in with the “I told you so” and the “This is why you should have waited,” but with another quick punch I reminded myself that it will just give me another fun change in a couple of weeks. 😉

Then I proceeded to our bedroom to do a little work in there. Thanks to our wonderful friends the Kuehner family, we now have a bed frame and head board! For the first 3 + months of our marriage we had our box springs sitting on the floor, since my bed frame had broken. A few days ago Tyler and I got the bed all set up (let me tell you, it felt weird to be 6 inches closer to the ceiling), and today I followed through on a bizarre idea my mom and I had a few months ago.

Ignore the wrinkles and the mismatched pillows ;)

Ignore the wrinkles and the mismatched pillows 😉

See that ‘swag’ above the bed? (I’m not really sure if swag is the word I’m looking for here, but it’ll do the trick.) That’s the aisle runner from our wedding. When we were cutting off the part that we used so that a friend could use the remainder for her ceremony, I was having a hard time parting with it. We brainstormed and voila! Believe me, it looks better in person. It may not be a big thing, but it makes me so happy. I even chose to write this post from bed instead of the living room where I usually sit. This just feels like such a happy space right now. I can’t imagine what it will feel like when the rest of the room isn’t a disaster! 😉 Let’s just say there’s still quite a bit of unpacking to do. But for now, this is my focus!

IMG_0735 copy

I kept it renter-friendly by using jute to tie it to small, clear command hooks. The jute fits the theme anyway, because it was a huge part of my wedding decor. Now whenever I come to bed I get to remember the feeling of walking down the aisle to my groom. [Insert girly, happy sigh]

Now, (even though I guarantee it looks better in person) these certainly won’t get me featured in any magazines. But today, they were two small ways to make me find joy and love life with what I have right now. Do you have anything that you could find an unexpected use for or repurpose into something beautiful? Don’t be scared it won’t turn out well. If it will brighten your day and bring you joy, what are you waiting for?

* * *

This post is part of a series. Interested? Click here!

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Joy: No More Waiting for Perfection

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

  2. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: All Good Things…. | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

