31 Days of Finding Joy: Traffic Jams and Groceries

Let me preface this by saying, it’s past my bedtime. At this time of night I’m generally in bed cozied up with my heating mattress turned on, chatting with my husband until it’s time for sleep. This means two things: 1) I’m tired so this may not make much sense, and 2) I’m tired so I don’t feel like writing! So this post will probably be confused and disjointed. Could I make it up to you by saying I have several more thoughtful posts in the works? Bear with me.

A couple moments of weird joy* today:

(*weird joy being tonight’s term for those moments that you probably wouldn’t put on the list of “things that make me joyful”, but for some reason in that moment you feel the joy anyway. Like I said, bear with me.)

Tonight Tyler and I had dinner at my in-laws’ house, which included a dip in the hot tub. MMMMM. To both the dinner and the hot tub time. I love hot tubs. And I love food. Winning combo right there. Anyway, on the way there Tyler and I got stuck in a traffic jam. I decided to get my iPad out to take some pictures of the foliage, and Tyler yells, “TRAFFIC JAM SELFIE!”, which I obviously couldn’t resist. Pics or it didn’t happen:

Traffic Jam Selfie

and the afore-mentioned foliage…FoliageSo there’s that! Just a bit of sillyness from our night. And the other moment of weird joy was our grocery trip:

for $48.60 we got….

yum20 Yoplait yogurts, a box of pasta, a jar of Prego, a bag of shredded cheese, a bag of shredded lettuce, a pack of small tortillas, a box of oatmeal creme pies, a huge (huge for a family of 2) thing of ground beef, 5 Panera mac & cheeses and soups, and 2 bags of apples. Also, not pictured, a 2 liter of Cranberry Sierra Mist

Okay, please feel free to laugh at me… but I still enjoy grocery shopping. Especially when I find good deals. The yogurts were 20/$8, the Panera soups etc were buy 2 get 3 free (although this still was a bit of a splurge for us at 5.99 per each… 2.40 each with the deal… but I love Panera mac & cheese and it taunts me everytime I go.),… and the best thing is that our Tops market does family meal deals, which basically means we bought the ground beef and got the pasta, sauce, cheese, lettuce, tortillas, oatmeal cremes, and 2 liter for free. I’m a fan of free. Next on the list: find some good ground beef recipes.

Do you have any weird joys? Even better, do you have a good term for weird joys? Because my sleepy brain can’t think of anything else to call it. Coming soon: non-tired, serious thoughts. Coming sooner: bedtime. Goodnight, folks.

* * *

This post is part of a series, and it’s not always quite this strange. Still interested? Click here!

3 thoughts on “31 Days of Finding Joy: Traffic Jams and Groceries

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

  2. I am not sure if this is considered a “weird joy” but a joy none-the-less. For me, I call them “warm fuzzies”. Smells! Yes smells. Smells that take me back…instantly. To name a few, coffee, it reminds me of my Grandma. Now to take that one up a notch have it brewing in a percolator with bacon cooking and you have a sure fire winner! One I came across years ago while weeding our garden was the smell of a tomatoe plant. I had all but forgotten how my Grandparents grew a huge garden of just tomatoes for canning until the smell came rushing at me. As mentioned before if you team the smell with a sound – winner winner. Put that coffe, bacon combo with Charlie Pride singing “Hometown Christmas” and I may become a puddle of sentiment (especially this year).
    All that being said, I enjoy reading your blogs. More often than not they get me misty eyed if not full on tears. I love you my sweet “dil”.

    Like

  3. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy: All Good Things…. | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

