31 Days of Finding Joy: Let That Be Enough

I have been looking forward to today for a very long time. The day before I turn 22, which happens to be a Wednesday. PERFECT. Now wait till you hear why, so that you can fully believe I’m crazy: a song. No, not Taylor Swift’s “22,” that will be tomorrow’s jam. TODAY’s song is “Let That Be Enough” by Switchfoot. This is a super, super old song of theirs, and there’s a line in the 2nd verse that says, “It’s my birthday tomorrow, no one here could know—I was born this Thursday, 22 years ago.” THAT’S ME GUYS. I WAS BORN TOMORROW, THIS THURSDAY, 22 YEARS AGO. Laugh all you want, but I am loving this. You have to understand, I get frustrated every May because I always miss the 15th without posting a Horton Hears a Who status. (On the 15th of May, in the jungle of Nool, in the heat of the day, in the cool of the pool…) So of course when I realize that my all-time favorite band has a lyric that lines up with my life, I am obligated to go crazy over it. That’s how my life works. And there is no missing this, because it will only happen once. Laugh all you want, but it’s the little things, okay?!

I was actually so intent on not missing this day that I literally marked my calendar… and still forgot. My life, folks. But don’t worry, around 11:30AM I remembered and tweeted about it. Catastrophe averted.

All that to say, this post is dual-purpose: first, apparently to reveal my craziness while talking about another crazy thing that brings me joy. But second, I decided that I guess I could go a little deeper and talk about the lyrics to the song. The first verse and chorus goes like so:

And all I see

It could never make me happy

And all my sand castles

Spend their time collapsing

Let me know that You hear me

Let me know Your Touch

Let me know that You love me

Let that be enough

If you’ve never listened to the song, you can click here to listen to it. I’ll admit it sounds reminiscent of a rainy day, and you’re probably wondering why I’m so excited to be able to have that as my song today. I’ll be honest and say that it’s really more for the coincidence of Jon Foreman’s 22nd birthday falling on the same day of the week as mine. But I do really enjoy the song as well. I can relate to it–the realization that all of my castles are built from sand and there’s really nothing stable within them, nothing to bring me lasting joy. There comes a moment when you have to call out to God and ask Him to pull you close to Him, because you’ve come to know that He’s the only thing that matters. Castles in the sand are fun to build and enjoy… but if you try to live there you’re going to get a surprise when the tide comes in.

So, yeah, maybe it is a crazy thing for me to feel joy about a song lyric. But when it comes down to it, the song is a good reminder. The things of this world are unstable—if I truly want a lasting joy, it needs to be grounded in the love of Jesus. In Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand!

* * *

This post is part of a 31 day series about Finding Joy. Interested? Click here!

blog 31 days

One thought on “31 Days of Finding Joy: Let That Be Enough

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

