31 Days of Joy: For the Sake of the Weekend.

I had been doing so well with this blog, and then my birthday weekend came. Thursday was my birthday, which I was obviously busy on, last night our godchildren stayed the night, and today I hosted a fall party and had people over for my birthday. Needless to say, by the end of each day, a blog is not at the top of my priority list. I’ve justified this to myself by saying that I’m not writing about joy because I’m living joy. This is true, I suppose, but I don’t want the rest of this month to be 2-sentence posts because I feel emotionally obligated to post something. This post still won’t be much longer, because even though it’s 9:10 pm as I write this, I’m struggling to keep my eyes open. I have a couple thoughts brewing about other posts, though, so don’t give up on me yet!

Tonight, after a day of craziness and fun with corn mazes, pumpkin carving, food, movies, & games… I am looking forward to rest. After I finish this post, I’m going to go cuddle up with a good movie, some cozy blankets, and my favorite cuddle buddy. I found joy in the crazy, but I’m also finding joy in the stillness. Both are important. Without one, we wouldn’t be able to recognize the other’s strengths. As an extrovert, I like to be with people all the time. I don’t like my friends to leave, I need to verbally process things, and I will probably call my mom just because I feel like I need to talk to her… not because I actually have something to say. This is what I do as an extrovert. I socialize nonstop, I talk, I commit myself, I talk, I talk, I laugh, I enjoy, I go, I do, I talk. And I love every moment of it. But without the stillness as contrast, my social side isn’t as fun. I will talk to you until the cows come home and it’s WAY past my bedtime. But I also thoroughly enjoy bedtime.

I know that a lot of people misunderstand introversion, but I think that just as many misunderstand the extrovert. It doesn’t necessarily mean being outgoing or an attention seeker, but simply that I get my energy from being with people. I loved every moment of this weekend, every moment of being with people I love. However… it’s good to enjoy the stillness. There is a reason the Psalm says “Be still and know that I am God.” Tonight, after a wonderful time with some of the best people, I will be still.

I apologize for how rambley this post is. I promise that there will be more thorough posts to come. But for now, I will go and be still. Even for an extrovert who thrives off of communication and socialization… there is joy to be found in stillness. Because God is there, even in the stillness.

* * *

This post is part of the series 31 Days of Finding Joy. Interested? Click here.

blog 31 days

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Joy: For the Sake of the Weekend.

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

  2. Blogging is a gift which you give yourself- and to us, your readers. Don’t apologize for short or missed entries…. life is about living and doing… and blogging is about documenting while leaving pressures behind ❤ it's awesome to be so happily busy and content.

    Like

Leave a Reply

