31 Days of Finding Joy: Clean Hearts

Yesterday’s post was Psalm 23 in Word and Song, and it looks like we’re continuing with that theme today. That wasn’t the plan, but when I got on biblegateway.com today and saw that today’s verse is Psalm 51:12, I couldn’t resist following where it led!

“Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.” –Psalm 51:12 NIV

Now, if you haven’t gathered it by now, I’m a huge Jon Foreman fan. Seeing as this is the 4th time I’ve posted songs of his on this blog (or songs of Switchfoot’s, which is the band he is the lead singer for), you’ve probably figured this out by now. I’m not going to apologize for this because he’s awesome. So there’s that. Anyway, yesterday’s song was “In the House of God Forever,” a musical version of Psalm 23. Today’s song is “White as Snow,” a beautiful rendition of Psalm 51. Jon Foreman is one of the few people who I can listen to sing Scripture without it reminding me of the cheesy Bible verse CDs and cassette tapes I had as a little girl (which were great when I was younger, but are not really my music style of choice now.) Jon Foreman actually even sang the verse Micah 7:1 in one of his songs, and even though I giggle every time I hear it, I still enjoy his song “Equally Skilled”. BUT I digress.

We’ve talked about several joy-blockers this month, such as comparison and overdependence. Today’s topic brings up another: sin. Sin can seriously mess with your joy. This is almost amusing in light of the fact that generally when we sin it’s because we’re under the impression that the forbidden thing will make us happier. But I’ve learned, and I’m sure you have too, that it doesn’t seem to work out that way. Eventually it catches up with you and gets in the way of your relationship with God and those around you. This Psalm was written by King David after he was approached by Nathan about his sin with Bathsheba. You can read the story here but basically, David really screwed up. He was selfish, he committed adultery, he lied, and then tried to cover it all up by committing murder. He wrote this Psalm, crying out to God to restore the brokenness within him. I can relate. When you really mess up, you may be able to ignore it for a little while… you can pretend it didn’t happen… you can cover it up…but it doesn’t go away. And when you keep trying to hide from God so that He doesn’t see your sin (which, of course, He sees anyway), and God is the ultimate source of joy… surprise, surprise, it gets harder and harder to find joy.

I think this is what David means when He cries out to God to “Restore in me the joy of Your salvation.”

Is there sin in your life that you’re allowing to block your joy? Come back to Jesus. Trust me, it’s worth it.

Create in me a clean heart, O God. Restore in me the joy of Your salvation. Wash me white as snow, and I will be made whole!

* * *

This post is part of the series 31 Days of Finding Joy. Interested? Click here!

blog 31 days

One thought on “31 Days of Finding Joy: Clean Hearts

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

