31 Days of Finding Joy: Sink Yourself Into That

31 Days of Finding Joy: Sink Yourself Into That

“Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives. That means we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original….Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others. Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life.” –Galatians 5:25&26, 6:4&5 MSG

I love The Message version of those verses. Just in case you’re a skimmer when it comes to big quotes (guilty), let me repeat just this one statement for you: “Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that.”

To begin, this is a continuation of yesterday’s post, so if you have any confusion, start there. I told you that today I would cover a detail I talked about yesterday, working toward a dream. I was thinking a few days ago that the one thing I know I want to do with my life is be a homemaker, a stay at home wife and mom. I love the domesticated life even more than I thought I would. I know I don’t have kids yet, but the decorating, organizing, and cooking part of life is what I’m loving right now. Ever since I was a young girl I knew I wanted to be a stay at home mom.

A few days ago as I was feeling down, a thought occurred to me: what am I doing to work toward that goal? Now before you people jump in here, I’m not having kids any time soon. I repeat: no baby Salisbury on the horizon, folks. That’s not what I’m getting at. What I’m saying is, if that’s what I want to do with my life, then why am I tempted to get so down about this position not working out? Why do I just want to throw a pity party, sit on the couch with a Mountain Dew and some Doritos and watch Christmas movies?! Umm, hello! Use that energy to get up and get moving on your house! Get it looking good! Plan dinner! Don’t sit around wishing you were living that life… live it! Get off your butt and use that Mountain Dew to get your tail movin! I obviously can’t actually be a full-time homemaker right now. But I sure can use my day’s off to get “good” at it.

And guess what?! Sure, I have this “potential” that “isn’t being used”. Sure, I have (too much) debt from college and I should have a good job to make it worth it. But the truth is I don’t really regret my place in life right now. I definitely don’t regret going to college. And to have a high-profile job I’d have to be in a city where I don’t have any friends or family. So… God is good. And He isn’t just going to sit up there and say “Wow, Alex. You really screwed up.  It’s almost laughable. Seriously, you better throw yourself a pity party because there’s really nothing else you can do at this point. I hope you’re embarrassed for yourself.” Um, no. He’s saying, “Alexandra, I love you. I know you’re scared, I know you feel like you’ve messed up…  but even when you do mess up, I’m still good. I am a God of second, third, fourth, infinity chances. So get up and get moving because I still have work for you to do! Make a careful exploration of the work I’ve given you, and then sink into it!” He has plans for me. And I don’t want to miss out on them by sitting around wishing life was different. There really is no such thing as the perfect circumstance. God simply asks for a willing heart.

So what work has God put in front of you? Whether it’s work you want or you don’t want, He’s put it there for a reason. Sink yourself into that. That doesn’t just mean for a career, just as I certainly don’t mean only being a homemaker. It could be with relationships, people you’re supposed to reach out to, a ministry,… really anything.

So make a careful exploration of the work that’s been given to you, and then…sink yourself into it.

* * *

This post is part of the series 31 Days of Finding Joy. Interested? Click here!

blog 31 days

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Finding Joy: Sink Yourself Into That

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

