31 Days of Finding Joy: Ennui!

Ennui: (pronounced ahn-WE) “A feeling of weariness and dissatisfaction” –Merriam-Webster. Or, “a feeling of utter weariness and discontent resulting from satiety or lack of interest; boredom”—Dictionary.com. First known use? 1732. Apparently people have been bored and weary for a long time.

So in case you’re living under a rock, I’ll let you know that Gilmore Girls is on Netflix now. I repeat: Gilmore Girls is on Netflix. This is important news because, Gilmore Girls. I am currently watching the entire series from beginning to end, even though I’m pretty sure there isn’t an episode I haven’t already seen. ANYWAY, in an episode we watched this week, Michele says that he is suffering from ennui. And then, of course, hypochondria-prone Sooki catches it as well. This video isn’t honestly that important to watch, but let’s watch it anyway, shall we? Because, as previously stated, Gilmore Girls.

ANYWAY. So, ennui. How do you find joy when you’re suffering from ennui?  If you’re tired of me saying that word, I’ll switch it. (But it’s so fun! In fact I’ve probably already covered this topic but HEY, I wasn’t using the word ennui and I’m the one at the keyboard, so here we go). Have you ever been in a state of life where you’re just so weary, dissatisfied, and bored that nothing sounds appealing anymore? All of the sudden life isn’t as glittery as it used to be. Now just for clarification: this post isn’t about depression, or tough stuff. It’s about gloominess. So please don’t think I’m trying to act like I have the cure for depression by pasting a smiley face on. I think that most of us know it’s not that easy. Okay, PROCEED.

I had a few days a couple weeks ago that I was just feeling down. It really was a shame because it actually took place during my birthday week. It was also a shame because I was smack dab in the middle of a series about joy and for goodness sake I didn’t want to talk about happiness when I was feeling so glum. But I did, because of my uncommittment issues I’ve referenced before and also because I’m aware enough to know when I need to keep plugging on so that I don’t let myself fall too deep into sadness. I was so emotionally unstable that I ended up crying on the morning of my birthday because I couldn’t find the shirt I wanted to wear (which would have been underneath my uniform anyway) and because I hadn’t been sleeping well recently because of the physical pain I’d been experiencing. Tyler even tried to keep me from going into work because I hurt so bad and was so emotional. (To which I got even more upset because I didn’t want to stay home alone on my birthday. Insert more tears here.)

My particular cure for my gloominess? Well, of course, it helped when I wasn’t in pain. But mostly… I just kept my focus higher. Higher than my gloominess, higher than my sad moments. Higher than my boredom with life. I did that by focusing on the fantastic things, like spending time with awesome people I love and who love me. Reveling in the thoughtfulness of my family as they picked out the absolute perfect gifts for me. Choosing to laugh at the fact that it felt like everything was going wrong on my birthday. And remembering that sometimes… you just feel down. Some days are just crappy. Some days life is boring. But you don’t have to stay there, and the sun will peak out again. This isn’t a philosophical or ‘deep’ post, just reminding you that:

  • Even yummy Poptarts have yucky crusts
  • Even my favorite, blueberry crumble bread, comes with “crust” gross end pieces
  • All of my analogies have to do with food, and I don’t like crusts

So shake off your ennui. Know that even if everything is going wrong, and you’re starting to get gloomy… it gets better. Don’t get too bored and weary. I promise, things will probably start looking up again soon. For now, keep remembering the good things. And sit down with your favorite snack, a warm blanket, and Gilmore Girls. I promise it helps.

* * *

This post is part of the series 31 Days of Finding Joy. Interested? Click here!

One thought on “31 Days of Finding Joy: Ennui!

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finding Joy | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

