8 Things I Learned in 2014

I’ve been meaning to link up with Emily Freeman’s blog for quite some time when she does her “things I learned” post each month, and now seemed the perfect time! Therefore, without further ado, here’s my list of 8 things I learned in 2014:

1. If I ever became a hip-hop artist and needed a rad name like Ke$ha or Flo-Rida, I’m prepared. Get this, are you ready? alex&ra. Like Alexandra. AlexANDra. alex&ra. Boom.

2. I like to cook. I actually really do. I don’t like to bake, however.

3. For all the brides-to-be planning your honeymoon, here’s a big one: Relax. Don’t worry about going somewhere exotic or European where you’ll simply want to explore. Most people end up sick or exhausted on their honeymoon because they’ve been go-go-going for so long. This didn’t happen to Tyler and I and I think that it’s partially because we chose a honeymoon where we could just relax and spend time together.

10488166_10202479108484396_9014612050148786548_n

In the background are the salt marshes that our cabin overlooked. So beautiful.

There was no Eiffel tower to be seen, no open bar, no luaus to attend, or anything else of that nature. We stayed in a gorgeous little cabin on Edisto Island, about an hour south of Charleston, SC.

10479666_10204385165214004_5798475206546483083_o

We cooked our own meals so there was no stress of finding restaurants every day, only when we wanted to. We were a mile from the beach so we could go there any time we wanted to.

10500346_10202479090523947_8328208034701121377_n

Sunrise on the beach!

It was a cabin, so it was private and personal but with practically all the same things as a hotel—maybe more.

10455443_10204300945028552_2861082711506133971_n

Our back porch 🙂

In short, it was perfect. I know that everyone is different, but my advice is to look something that will relax you, whatever that may be.

4. I love being married. 10 stars.

What a STUD.

What a STUD.

5. Don’t let the Wii U make its own mii for you based on a photo. Don’t ask why I know, just don’t do it. Your husband will laugh at you mercilessly.

6. The value of friendship. I’m realizing how much I miss my friends at college, who seem so far away now. Friends that I made not so long ago, but who I connected with deeply as we did life together. I’m also realizing how fortunate I am to have friends here at home that I can be real with—no matter who the real me is at that moment. There are only a few people in this world who I feel I can be completely open with, raw and vulnerable. Thankfully, I married one of them.

7. I like pickles. I never thought I would! When we were in Edisto, there was a guy selling homemade Sweet & Sour pickles, somewhere in-between a dill and a bread&butter. SO GOOD.

8. I learned about forgiveness, letting go (thanks, Elsa), Parks & Rec, Once Upon a Time, Cystic Fibrosis, humility, and embracing the beauty with imperfection. I learned how to rent our first apartment, budget, and make big purchases like a dryer (woo hoo for doing laundry in our own apartment—finally!).

2014 was a big year for us. We got married almost 7 months ago and are loving it—even in the rough times. My newest nephew was born, and with him came the love of an aunt all over again, plus the love of watching Tyler experience being an uncle for the first time. With him also came knowledge of Cystic Fibrosis, a disease I didn’t know much about until Riley made it extremely important. 2014 has been a year of love, broken relationships, healed hearts, letting go of the past, and running toward the future. I can’t wait to see what 2015 will bring!

2 thoughts on “8 Things I Learned in 2014

  1. Pingback: Better than Fiction | Waiting For Home

  2. Pingback: Is it too late? (&50th blog post!) | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

