Prioritize!

I keep thinking to myself that I must be CRAZY to be writing a blog series on getting my crap together when I so obviously am having a hard time actually doing it. What a great way to force yourself to have accountability! Ha. Thanks, self.

Last night as Tyler and I went for a walk (it’s getting a little chilly for this now—gonna have to bundle up a bit more!) we had a good conversation about something I’ve been thinking about for a while now: priorities. Learning what is and what isn’t a priority in your life, and then thinking about what that actually means. Not all priorities are created equal, you know. My first step in getting my life back in order is to determine what’s actually important. I’ve never really been a goal-driven person–someone who sets SMART goals for themselves and then re-evaluates them every day and every week to chart progress and make changes. However, I do occasionally need to sit down and remind myself what’s important. Enter yellow legal pad:

Maybe I should make "penmanship" a priority...

Maybe I should make “penmanship” a priority…

Top Priorities:

  • My faith
  • My marriage
  • My family
  • My friends

Other important things in my life:

  • Work/Money (I am not a crazy career girl, so there is not much of a division for me between working and finances)
  • Taking care of myself
  • Homemaking
  • Volunteer work

I highly, highly recommend that you do this. Figure out your priorities (try not to have more than 10, including the “other important things” category—and yes, I thought of that title all on my own) and then write a few blurbs under each one explaining what things you need to do to contribute to that priority. Remind yourself exactly what it means in relation to your other priorities, and maybe put a star next to the ones that you feel like you aren’t handling well lately. Give yourself some points of action and ways to get your life back in line with your priorities. Some notes from my personal priority list to help you get started on your own:

  1. Realize what relationship your priorities have toward each other. Ex: I really need to put quality time with my husband above quality time with my friends and family, because my marriage is my most important earthly relationship. HOWEVER: I really really do not have to spend every waking moment with him. For pete’s sake, give the man a break. Let him be his introverted self, and go spread your extroversion somewhere else for a little bit. #2: Getting out of debt is so, so important right now for us, which means that work and budgeting are incredibly important. However: I need to remember that before work and money and debt come my other, top priorities. And while I should still be sensible with my money, sensibility does not have to equal stubbornness and boredom.
  2. Realize and accept that some things really don’t have to be perfect. A few weeks ago I read this great post about taking yourself out of the running, and it’s been on my mind ever since. Seriously, take the time to remind yourself that you cannot possibly get everything 100% right. My area for this right now is my hobbies and my “me-time”. Ex: I really want to start taking care of myself better when it comes to my health and my physical appearance. That being said, I do not need to be the prettiest girl in the room. And I don’t need to spend my time wondering if I am, or wishing I was, or anything else. I don’t need to start a strict diet regimen and change my lifestyle and cut out all ______ or ______ or __________. (fill in the blank with whatever fad is trending at time of post). I just need to take a little more time for me. Like maybe I could actually do my hair in the morning. Crazy, huh? Ex #2: I was talking to a friend last night about how sometimes you need to put all of your energy into one area of your life, which means the other areas need to rest for a while. If you are dealing with some heavy emotional, mental, and spiritual stuff, it might be time to put your diet or your career goals on hold for a while or at least slow them down. Let yourself focus on what’s important right now.

And so, dear friends! If you too are travelling this road, I encourage you to take 15 minutes today (it probably won’t even take that long) to sit down and write out your priorities. It doesn’t have to look pretty or Instagram worthy. Just get it all down so that you can see it on paper. Let’s not become so overwhelmed with all of the things we have to do that we forget what’s really important. Keep that piece of paper and put it somewhere easily accessible so that you can re-read it as necessary.

We can SO do this.

* * *

In case you missed it… check out the rest of this series right on over here: 31 Days of Getting My Crap Together

31 Days!

3 thoughts on “Prioritize!

  1. Pingback: 31 Days is back! | Waiting For Home

  2. Pingback: Is it too late? (&50th blog post!) | Waiting For Home

  3. Pingback: Can I get a Grace Card? | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

