I Put the Pro in Procrastination

Let me tell you about a nasty little habit I have.

When I get that feeling of being overwhelmed and that I won’t be able to do everything… I lay in bed and do nothing.

Current status: bed, apple juice, Friends. Pro at procrastination.

Current status: bed, apple juice, Friends. Pro at procrastination.

I’m even currently procrastinating going to sleep. Because it stands to reason that the sooner I go to sleep, the sooner it will seem that I need to get up, and so if I don’t go to sleep I won’t have to get up and go to work. And so here we are. Instead of sleeping, I’ll watch Netflix, ramble on and on to you, and sleepily check Facebook again. And then tomorrow I’ll hate myself for not getting more sleep.

Help! My procrastination is ridiculous. It’s just really bad when you even procrastinate the things you want to do. Like sleep. How do I get this under control? And how do I write my blog earlier in the day so that I’m not just rambling on at midnight? And how do I convince you to come do my laundry so that I don’t have to do it all myself?

***

Check out the rest of the series here–> 31 Days of Getting my Crap Together!

31 Days!

3 thoughts on “I Put the Pro in Procrastination

  1. Pingback: 31 Days is back! | Waiting For Home

  2. This made me giggle, as that is how used to be, too. For me, the only way I really get stuff down is by writing lists. I have action plans for everything — long-term and short-term, then each of those is broken down into nice bite-size goals, too, which make me feel accomplished and then recharge my momentum. I’m not as much of a pro in procrastination anymore, but I certainly do love a few moments to slip up just the same. Be kind to yourself. You’ll get the important stuff done, as necessary.

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh, this is me!! I could have written this. (Though not as nicely as you did. I’m not a writer.) When I get in this mood, the only way I have find myself out of it is to set a timer. 15 minutes and I’ll do something on my To Do list and then I’ll quit. Usually just getting up and doing something gets me going, but there are days when I have to continually set a timer to get things done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

