The Method to my Madness

If you walked into my house right now, you’d be greeted by this:

beautfiul, huh?

beautiful, huh?

Doesn’t that just make you wanna come over and get comfy? 😉 This, my friends, is what it looks like to be halfway through the process of getting rid of clutter in my home. This post will be the brief explanation of what my method has been–I swear there really is one behind this pile of nonsense.

Earlier this year I read the book The Get Yourself Organized Project, and launched from there. I did tweak it quite a bit, but my inspiration was borne out of that book, and I would recommend it! Over the last couple months, I have been going through every nook and cranny of my house and looking at each item, deciding if it should stay in my home or make its way out.

Each one of these bins (plus another that happens to be in my car at the moment) is a collection of items in one of the following categories:

  • sell
  • donate
  • give away (I know it sounds the same as donate, but these items have been spoken for–more on that later)
  • storage (this is then broken up into holiday, memories, and ‘future’–aka future kids etc. Like the toys and books we can’t bear to get rid of but we don’t really need cluttering up our living room right now.)

I do obviously have multiple boxes for a few of the categories, because they outgrew one box. I’ve also had the opportunity to lessen the sell and giveaway categories because–well, I’ve already sold or given them away! 😉

Sell– I’m not really someone that wants to spend a lot of time and energy on something that’s only going to make me a couple of bucks. For this reason I don’t really sell on eBay, Craigslist, or Facebook yard sales, but these avenues may work great for you! Books, movies, and video games (easily packable, easily listed) I generally sell on Amazon. This fall, for the first time, I decided to sell a few items on my Facebook page. I took a few pictures, threw a price on them, and put them in an album on Facebook. Lastly, a Plato’s Closet just opened in our area (consignment shop that pays upfront!) and although they’re picky, I did sell a few items there! Between these three things, I’ve made over $100 in the past two months. So I’m not a millionaire, but I also put very little time and effort into it. So I’ll take whatever I can get!

Donate– These things are either finding their way to Salvo, a shelter, or another local donation center.

Give Away– Personally, I have a hard time not being a pack rat. I like to keep things because of “what if”. I think this is a combination of being A) not rich, and B) a crafter. These two things make me feel like I have to keep everything just in case. However, it makes me feel a lot better if I know that my items are going to someone who I know is going to want and use them! Therefore, for my personal entertainment, I put another album on Facebook full of items that I was giving away, and let people speak for them if they were interested! As I said, this is entirely unnecessary, it just made it more enjoyable for me. I also sent personal messages to friends and family members, plus had them go through items that I was getting rid of, to see if they or anyone they know had a need.

Storage– I think this speaks for itself. I’m going to store this stuff. So there’s that.

As previously mentioned, I want to get all of these boxes to their perspective homes before the holidays come around. As great as they look in this corner, I’m kind of done having them there. The system is going well so far. I’ll keep ya posted! 😉

***

This post is part of the series 31 Days of Getting My Crap Together!

31 Days!

3 thoughts on “The Method to my Madness

  1. Pingback: 31 Days is back! | Waiting For Home

  2. Pingback: Is it too late? (&50th blog post!) | Waiting For Home

Leave a Reply

